The StartupNation Blog Trends, tips and real-life anecdotes from industry experts

50 of the Best Twitter Applications and Resources For Small Business Owners


I didn’t like Twitter at first. I thought it was random, and stupid, and a waste of time, and so right after I first signed up I deleted my account.

But after a while I kept hearing the testimonials from people who loved Twitter and so I thought I would give it another shot. I’m glad I did, because I have become a Twitter believer.

Article is continued below

Now Twitter is an integral part of the social media marketing strategy that we implement for our clients here at 23 Kazoos. Here are some reasons why I like to use it now.

1. It enables me to see what’s going on in the world, in my community and in my market, in real time. About a month ago I thought I felt an earthquake! My house was rolling and rocking, my blinds and chandeliers were swaying back and forth. I went to Twitter and said “I think I felt an earthquake!” “Me too,” said several people… Through Twitter we discovered there had been an earthquake in our area. And that news came to us instantaneously, long before it was announced on a television news or radio station.

2. Twitter enables me to establish visibility and credibility, in my community, marketplace and world. Through Twitter I share small business marketing tips that get “retweeted” frequently.

3. Twitter enables me to make new connections and build and valuable relationships, while at the same time keeping in contact with current relationships. It’s quicker than a phone call and getting more efficient all the time.

4. Twitter enables me to get the word out about my clients businesses in a meaningful way. Through Twitter my clients have gained new customers, kept current customers up to date, and even garnered media attention. It’s been a valuable tool in our marketing strategy.

Here are 50 Twitter applications and resources that I like to use when I’m managing Twitter for myself and my clients. Do you have a favorite Twitter application or resource? If so, please list it here!

Disclaimer: I am not affiliated with any of these sites. Also, because things change so quickly, some of these links may be broken or these sites may not be available any longer. Kindly post comment and we will make changes.

Find Followers & Followees:

1. Twellow: http://www.twellow.com

2. Tweepz: http://www.tweepz.com

3. Nearby Tweets: http://nearbytweets.com

4. GeoFollow: http://geofollow.com

5. Streetmavens: http://usa.streetmavens.com

6. Twitter Grader: http://twitter.grader.com/location

7. Journalist Tweets: http://journalisttweets.com

8. Media on Twitter: http://www.mediaontwitter.com

9. Muck Rack: http://www.muckrack.com

10. Listorius: http://listorious.com

11. Twitter advanced search: http://search.twitter.com/advanced

Manage Twitter:

12. Journalist Tweets: http://journalisttweets.com

13. Media on Twitter: http://www.mediaontwitter.com

Manage Twitter on Your Computer:

PC

14. Tweet Deck: http://tweetdeck.com

15. Seesmic Desktop: http://seesmic.com/seesmic_desktop

16. HooteSuite:http://hootsuite.com

Mac:

17. Nambu: http://www.nambu.com

18. Tweetie: http://www.atebits.com/tweetie-mac

Manage Twitter on Your Mobile Phone:

Blackberry:

19. OpenBeak: http://www.orangatame.com/products/openbeak

20. Tiny Twitter: http://www.tinytwitter.com

Android:

21. HootSuite: http://hootsuite.com/android

22. TwitDroid: http://twidroid.com

23. NanoTweeter: http://code.google.com/p/nanotweeter

iPhone

24. Twitter for iPhone: http://www.itunes.com

25. Echophone: http://www.echofon.com/twitter/iphone

Automate Twitter:

26. CoTweet: http://cotweet.com

27. HootSuite: http://www.hootesuite.com

28. Twuffer: http://www.twuffer.com

29. Social Oomph: http://www.socialoomph.com

30. Ping.fm: http://ping.fm

Personalize Your Twitter Background:

31. TwitrBackgrounds: http://www.twitrbackgrounds.com

32. Twitrounds: http://twitrounds.com

33. TwitBacks: http://www.twitbacks.com

Market Your Small Biz with Twitter Applications:

34. TwitHawk: http://www.twithawk.com

35. Easy Tweets: Promote your biz: https://easytweets.com

36. Twitjump: Monitor your brand: http://www.twitjump.com

37. Listorius: Find the top lists to follow: http://listorious.com

38. OneForty: Best Twitter applications: http://oneforty.com

39. Twt Apps: Applications especially for businesses: http://twtapps.com

Just for Fun!

40. Twittersheep: http://twittersheep.com

41. Playtwivia: http://twitter.com/playtwivia

42. Tweetbomb: http://twitter.com/tweetbomb

43. Twittearth: http://twittearth.com

44. Tweet Cloud: http://tweetcloud.com/

45. My Tweet Cloud:

46. Twitter Grader: http://twitter.grader.com

47. 12 Seconds.TV: http://12seconds.tv/home

Twitter Tips and How To’s

48. 100 Twitter Tips eBook, by Dan Hollings:

49. Twitter Power 2.0, by Joel Comm (book)

50. Mashable.com

Wendy Kenney is a nationally known Buzz Building Expert and the Founder and CEO of 23 Kazoos, a marketing firm specializing in inexpensive and creative small business marketing strategies.  She has honed her marketing skills through over 26 years of entrepreneurship and business management.

Wendy just released her new book called “How to Build Buzz for Your Biz- Tap into the Power of Social Media, Publicity and Relationship Marketing to Grow Your Business” based on her knowledge of what works and what does not work in small business marketing.  This book features practical and low cost marketing strategies, such as “How to Grow Your Business Using Social Media,” as well as valuable links, resources, and tips.

Wendy frequently speaks to organizations about marketing for small business.  To get more information or to schedule Wendy to speak go to:  Business Marketing Speaker

Claim your free download (no email necessary) on Wendy’s website:  23 Kazoos

How to Build Buzz for your Biz:  23 Creative and Inexpensive Marketing Strategies That Will Get You Noticed

Related Posts:

How CEOS are Using Social Media For Real Results

Twittermania: 140+ More Twitter Tools

Twitter Toolbox: 60 Plus Twitter Tools

About the Author: Wendy Kenney

Lineage2, Aion, Blade And Soul

StartupNation Free Launch Assessment! Get Started Now