Find us elsewhere
Join Now Member Login

http://www.TheOxfordProgram.com - Career counseling program - Architecture Critique needed

 
New Topic
Post Reply
Follow Topic
Page of 1
  • Author
  • Message
 
skbohler

posts: 37

Apr 06, 2007 11:18 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote

Hello Critiquers:

My business runs via http://www.TheOxfordProgram.com

The Oxford Program is an online program (similar to eHarmony Marriage -- http://marriage.eharmony.com), in that it includes testing, tools, a process/methodology, expert online career coaching, lists of unique career and business options, and an interactive community with discussion forum/blogs/chat).

I have been told that the site is a bit overwhelming and confusing.

My goals for the site are to convert lookers into buyers. I want people to take the Oxford Career FITness Analysis and get their score, and then be persuaded to peruse the rest of my site and eventually sign-up.

I feel that the site may need a new architecture and be simplified. I think it needs a funnel focused on clarity and conversion.

Unfortunately, I`m too close to the topic to see what changes to make specifically. I want to cut out the fat and leave muscle.

So, I`m looking for specific suggestions on how to re-architect it.

Thanks in advance!

-Steve



-------------------------

"Life is short. Love your work." Steve Bohler, MS The Oxford Program Founder/Head Coach http://www.TheOxfordProgram.com
vwebworld

posts: 1237

Apr 06, 2007 2:18 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote

Yes, a lot of information to process.

The 6 step process is a good concept, but people don`t like to think more than 3 steps at a time :-)

I started the question part (before I registered) went through and answered everything..hit submit and the page froze blank white. I got the welcome email an an email to complete the same questionare I already did.

It might be an issue with filtering here, but you might check to see tat someone CAN complete the "self test" form prior to registering.

There are a few spelling errors thoughout the site and on the self-test.

~Roland



-------------------------

Web Design | Best Beef Jerky | ecommerce articles | Follow vwebworld on Twitter
skbohler

posts: 37

Apr 06, 2007 4:08 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote

Hi Roland,

First, can you tell me when you got the blank screen?

Was it before or after you filled in your information to register?

Were you using Internet Explorer?

You say you got an e-mail to complete the Oxford Career FITness Analysis after you completed it. I`m not sure how would happen. Could you forward that e-mail to me at info@theoxfordprogram.com?

Thanks again!

Steve



-------------------------

"Life is short. Love your work." Steve Bohler, MS The Oxford Program Founder/Head Coach http://www.TheOxfordProgram.com
vwebworld

posts: 1237

Apr 06, 2007 5:31 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote

I clicked on "take self test now" on this page: http://www.theoxfordprogram.com/program/plansprices.asp
and completed that "test".  At the end of the test when I clicked to submit it...that`s when I got the blank screen.

~Roland

 



-------------------------

Web Design | Best Beef Jerky | ecommerce articles | Follow vwebworld on Twitter
CraigL

posts: 9051

Apr 06, 2007 6:08 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
I think the issue here is too much selling, not enough trying. :-)

First, on the landing page for theoxfordprogram.com, below the banner, I`d switch the order of the first two paragraphs (I edited the seconde paragraph, in italics):
The Oxford ProgramTM is the first and only complete career counseling and discovery service. It succeeds where career books, testing, and conventional counseling have failed.

Imagine what it would be like to discover yoiur amazing talents. Uncover the perfect career choice, uniquely tailored for you, then we`ll show you how to get there!

You`ve got the three big buttons, and that`s terrific! But I`d like to get right in and try the system. When I started reading the rest of the content, it was all about how cool this program is, why I should have a program of some kind, and how cool, how cool, how cool, and how cool. :-) Yeesh!

Simplify.

AFTER I`ve run the try-out, to see what you`re going to ask, you can give me a basic summary. Then have a "Read the full report," as a link. When I click on THAT link, THEN you can put up a message. "If you`d like to read the full analysis of your questionnaire, please register."

In other words, by giving me all the options and questions to run the analysis, then giving me a "teaser" about how profound that analysis will be, you get me really interested. Otherwise, all the "how cool" is just blather.

Note how eHarmony works. It does something like this, with the whole kit and kaboodle. It`s only when you try to go meet people that you`re asked to join. You can read about other members, see parts of their profiles, and get a sense that yes, there are pepole here you`d like to meet.

SuN has a terrific model. You can do anything at all on the site without ever joining. It`s only after you get stimulated to respond to someone`s post that you`re asked to "join." At that point although you`re taken to a registration and fill out a profile, when you`re done, you`re brought right back to the topic that got you all fired up. But now you`re joined, and you can respond.

Show me how it works. Show me my personal results. When I see that it`s going to really help, then try to use whatever you`ve shown me, THAT`s when you can ask for money. :-)
CraigL2007-4-6 18:10:49
Apr 07, 2007 9:23 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
My main issue with the site is that it does very much come across as a typical "american" multi-level marketing type "scam" website rather than a respectable service provider - only missing the testimonial of how everyone has made 6 figure salaries within a few days of signing up to complete the image.

Looking at the pricing page I have to agree it was over whelming there are about 5 different batches of tests, the same again of support etc... what again makes it seem like a scam is the saying individual elements are $100+ etc but you get all 16 for only $30... many people do strongly believe in the "if it seems too good to be true, it probably is"

As a small niggle... your pages dont render quite right in FireFox  


-------------------------

Astaroth Solutions - Bespoke web development
skbohler

posts: 37

Apr 08, 2007 8:42 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote

Thanks everyone, for taking the time to give your thoughts.

CraigL:

This week I`m going to try and make some modifications. Are you open to seeing if my changes fit more closely your thinking?

Thanks again,

Steve



-------------------------

"Life is short. Love your work." Steve Bohler, MS The Oxford Program Founder/Head Coach http://www.TheOxfordProgram.com
CraigL

posts: 9051

Apr 09, 2007 5:02 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
Steve,
Feel free to post here when you`ve made the changes. I track all my topics, and they always show up if someone`s added a new post. :-)
InactiveMember

posts: 705

Apr 13, 2007 9:26 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote

Here`s an article I wrote on copywriting. Buy the Sigur Ros CD "Takk" and listen to it a few times. The songs on the CD are great inspiration for copywriting and communication.

I think you`ve done a good job but the communication strategy isn`t quite right. I think you might want a softer approach.

Page of 1
Post Reply
 
.
Advertisement

Keep the Community Clean!

  • StartupNation forums should be used as a platform to learn, educate others, share stories, tips & tricks and to provide constructive feedback.
  • Please do not use the Forums for advertising & blatant self-promotion.
  • Please be respectful to other members and refrain from personal attacks and vulgar language.
  • StartupNation reserves the right to delete any message, reply, and/or member who violates our terms of use.
Read full terms of use
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement