Make Connections

Network, Get Answers, Find Members in Your Area, and More!

Forums » Startup Funding

Funding Sources

• 2 posts
    March 28, 2013 4:19 PM EDT

I am not sure how much information to post here, so I will post what I think is relevant to the situation.  

I am a pharmacist.  I had been living in NY and saving to open my own pharmacy.  There are banks that specialize in funding vets, pharmacists, and dentists and they require about 20% down to issue a small business loan.  The start-up cost of a pharmacy varies from 400k to 600k, so I am talking 80k to 120K to receive funding.

The economic downturn started and the location I had picked was no longer ideal. We (the family and I)   decided to move to SC.  Our mortgage was upside down, so I spent our savings so we could break even and get out of our mortgage and move.

Now, I am still looking to open a pharmacy.  The problem is, I do not have the initial 20% down that the banks want to see to issue the small business loan.   I have found a location that is ideal for a pharmacy.  It is in an existing grocery store - an IGA to be exact.  It is an icon in the town it is in, very busy, and has about 100k sq ft of space to it.  The owner hired a consultant a few years ago and they gave him a "green light" to put in a pharmacy.  He had a pharmacist on board, but she changed her mind and moved on to something else.  

I have read about Angel Investors, but I do not know if that is an option here.  Certainly venture capital is out of the question.  I have a few cousins who are worth a million or two, but I do not know them.  I could approach them with some sort of business agreement.  I feel funny about it, but I am confident enough in my plan that the business would not fail.  I know how to run and manage a pharmacy and have been a pharmacist for 20 years and a pharmacy manager for 7 years.