Make Connections

Network, Get Answers, Find Members in Your Area, and More!

Forums » Developing Your Invention

How do I start my own stationery line?

• 990 posts
    March 14, 2009 4:25 AM EDT
    you should work with an attorney to protect your creative expressions - there is probably also a trademark to register.

---
    James Lindon, Ph.D. Patent Attorney
    Lindon & Lindon, LLC
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Patents, Trademarks, Copyrights, Pharmacy Law, Litigation
    [this is not legal advice - provided for discussion only]
    Intellectual Property for the Individual and Small Business: Identify, Protect, Enforce, Defend.
    "Fools rush in where angels fear to tread."
    http://www.LindonLaw.com

• 2 posts
    March 12, 2009 11:06 AM EDT
    I am a graphic designer and new mom and am interested in starting my own line of stationery (to be sold in stores or perhaps online).  I know how to design, but I have no clue where to go from there.  Do I print the cards first and then hope they sell or do I wait until an order is placed?  How do I find a rep?  Etc. etc.  At this point, I`m looking to talk with someone who has done this before to see if this is really the venture I want to pursue.  I guess I`m trying to find out what this dream of mine would really entail.  Any help is appreciated.  Thanks!
    • 2 posts
    March 13, 2009 7:13 AM EDT
    Yes, I`m looking into this option too.  Just starting to research the companies that work with outside designers.  Thanks for the help.
    • 355 posts
    March 13, 2009 7:00 AM EDT
    Have you thought of partnering with Hallmark or similar company?  You do the graphics and they print the cards.
    nevadascul3/13/2009 12:57 PM

---
    The older we get, the more excuses we make for not chasing after our dreams. But truth is, goals are attainable at any age.

• 24 posts
    January 5, 2012 6:16 PM EST