Make Connections

Network, Get Answers, Find Members in Your Area, and More!

Forums » Sales

Do you charge to do a bid or respond to an RFP?

• 990 posts
    January 24, 2008 9:38 AM EST
    charge for an analysis at your regular hourly rate, and waive the fee if the client choses you.

---
    James Lindon, Ph.D. Patent Attorney
    Lindon & Lindon, LLC
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Patents, Trademarks, Copyrights, Pharmacy Law, Litigation
    [this is not legal advice - provided for discussion only]
    Intellectual Property for the Individual and Small Business: Identify, Protect, Enforce, Defend.
    "Fools rush in where angels fear to tread."
    http://www.LindonLaw.com

• 2 posts
    January 24, 2008 8:31 AM EST
    I am a web designer.  I am usually talking with prospective clients about ways to improve their websites, and I usually give a fairly detailed written analysis and a quote before they hire me. I believe that generally they are only considering a very short list of companies, and in some cases, I am the only contender. 

A larger web design company told me that they charge for such an analysis at their regular hourly rate, but waive the fee if the client choses them. If not, they are free to take the analysis elsewhere to have the work done.

The smartest thing to do is probably to do a less detailed analysis up front and not charge for it, but I have won clients even though I was charging more, simply based on the quality of my proposal. 

So is this an example of "giving away the product for free to encourage sales" or am I leaving money on the table?

I`d love some feedback.

Thanks.

• 2 posts
    January 25, 2008 8:36 AM EST
    Thanks to all for your comments. I appreciate them!

Catherine
    • 731 posts
    January 24, 2008 1:29 PM EST
    PixelHappy,
    Here is what I do.