Make Connections

Network, Get Answers, Find Members in Your Area, and More!

Forums » Boomers Back in Business

Does Sex Still Sell at Midlife?

• 2 posts
    February 24, 2009 3:18 PM EST
    I agree with both Matts. The confidence factor is huge and one doesn`t have to be beautiful to be attractive to others.
    As a middle-aged business owner, I dress to look professional, rather than wear something that would distract from what I was trying to accomplish. Of course, I wouldn`t be caught dead without my lipstick and mascara.
    I believe that we do respond more warmly toward attractive people, especially of the opposite sex.

---
    Assisting companies with the creation of effective trade show and event communication

• 14 posts
    February 17, 2009 7:07 AM EST

As a television news reporter years ago, I always knew I had to be visually appealing.  Although I wasn’t well endowed in one specific area, my body was very well proportioned for my size and I had that youthful, perky, cute look.  Unfortunately though, as the years passed and I began to mature, my graceful aging became outdated and I was easily replaced by younger, sexier-looking women who could probably never compete on the show Are You Smarter than a Fifth Grader. 

Even though many of us gain more confidence in business and relationships at midlife, the media makes us feel less secure about our image. They imply that if we want to maintain our sex appeal we should consider breast implants or cosmetic surgery to tighten up sagging and flabby skin.   They point to the likes of Diane Keaton, Goldie Hawn or Madonna as role models for us. Now, I’m not knocking any of these fellow baby boomer women but not all of us are alike and we shouldn’t be put into a “woman size fits all” generic category.