im curious how others define their 'net profit margin' on their product.
let says for example i sell my product X at $100.
it costed me $50 to purchase - so i refer my gross profit as $50.
but there are only a few other costs such as shipping it to the customer ($10)
and a misc cost associated with each time i sell this product ($10).
i want to say my 'net profit' on product X is $30 ($100-$50-$10-$10=$30)
BUT. the last thing i did not yet include is the storage unit of $500/mth which supports this product.
Do others still say my net profit is 30% ($30/$100 x 100) or how do you factor something like rent into this? I felt like just saying "ill add another $10 cost to each product for rent".. but then it depends on the number i sell..
for example. if i factor in $10 cost for rent on each product,
the 'net profit margin' on Product X is $20 (if i sell product X under 50 times this mth) and the profit margin would be $30 if i sold over 50 times covering the rent..
Hopefully i was clear with the confusion i am facing!
Would greatly appreciate any clarification on this topic. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!