Make Connections

Network, Get Answers, Find Members in Your Area, and More!

Forums » Commercializing Your Invention

Inventor seeking advice...

• 1 posts
    December 9, 2011 7:03 AM EST

Greetings all!  I’m an inventor and forum newbie.  I joined here in hopes of some friendly advice on what direction to go with a current invention.  The object of the invention is a device primarily designed to fill a need for law enforcement and military purposes. In spite of this fact, numerous civilian markets exist for the machine. 

Early in the process, I had an initial consultation with an intellectual property attorney.  Instead of going the route of a Provisional Patent, I decided to conserve the legal fees and go forward with the design development process on my own. I have carefully documented the design progression including prototype building and testing. This includes a log book with witness signed and dated entries.  A working prototype has been assembled from the components machined from my drawings and spec’s. I have tested the prototype and it works as intended and exceeds all expectations.  At this stage, I am ready to go forward with filing patent documents.  I should note that it has taken me over two years and over $100k to get to this stage... not to mention hundreds of hours. 

I have drafted most of the disclosure requirements necessary for a US Utility Patent Application. This includes extensive research on Prior Art; an Abstract; a Summary; Detailed Descriptions of the First Embodiment (as well as additional embodiments); Claims; Figures and Drawings as well as other related materials.  In spite of the work done, I recognize that I’m not an intellectual property attorney and a mistake on this application can jeopardize or at the very least weaken the patent.