Find us elsewhere
Join Now Member Login

What kind of a scam business is this?

 
New Topic
Post Reply
Follow Topic
Page of 2 Next »
  • Author
  • Message
 
eGuru

posts: 38

May 01, 2007 10:49 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote

I recently clicked on a work from home add here on SUN and was asked to sign up with my email/name etc.  I have never trusted a business of such nature but this time I decided to move ahead.  The business turned out to be "WorkHomeNow".

A "member" would return your call and ask you to conference call into a "meeting" that lasts 25 minutes.  In this meeting they explain how you can get someone to join and that person`s "pledge" money will come to you.  In fact, you will receive the pledge from everyone else this person signs up and so on...not too different from MLM.  They do not explain how the other person makes money - since everything comes in your pocket.

There is no product, service, or unique value proposition.  It is simply get someone to join and pay a pledge and they do the same with someone else and so forth.  Sounds like a scam to me honestly...there are many other nuances that I may have skipped but the information I received left me with so many unanswered questions.

Any thoughts from anyone?  Heard of these guys or similar concepts?  Are people actually doing this?  Why?

 

nhgnikole

posts: 2660

May 02, 2007 2:04 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
It`s not an MLM ... that`s a pyramid scam.
vegsoylady

posts: 28

May 02, 2007 9:27 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote

I had a friend just ask me to join something similar to this...I think it is a scam as well!

Theresa

www.candlemoney4mom.scent-team.com

 



-------------------------

theresa-a mommy at home "No Isolation" www.candlemoney4mom.com www.candlemoney4mom.scent-team.com
Virtecom

posts: 18

May 02, 2007 11:09 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote

FYI- This is a gifting program which by the way is illegal in all 50 States. It is based on PT Barnums concept of "a sucker born every minute." By the way PT never sad that but I digress.

Can you make money.............. Yes

But when the FTC cracks down on your group........ and they will. The fines will eat up anything you made. ignorance is not an excuse. Want more info Google "gifting Programs"

Virtecom2007-5-2 11:10:30


-------------------------

Leonard Campbell
Dir. Business Development
leonard.campbell@gmail.com

Joel

posts: 865

May 02, 2007 11:33 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
eGuru,

Thanks for the heads up on this. If you saw such an ad on our site then it was a 3rd party ad served through Google or Yahoo!. We`re investigating this and will restrict ads from this site from appearing on our site.

Thanks to the StartupNation community for helping to keep our site as valuable as possible!
iouone2

posts: 1185

May 02, 2007 11:47 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
Virtecom... Not trying to appear aggressive or anything, but about your quote "sucker born every minute." Maybe you should stop Perpetuating the myth... try stating, "It is based on David Hannum`s concept of "a sucker born every minute."

At least you did acknowledge PT was not the originator of the comment so often used. Did you know David Hannum was Barnum`s competitor?

...and now, back to you regularly scheduled post.


-------------------------

Vincent Wilcox (a.k.a. KRAKR)
Drummer
My band: Letters Make Words
CraigL

posts: 9051

May 03, 2007 5:36 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
So are was saying that the phrase is a scam....? :-) Just curious....
iouone2

posts: 1185

May 03, 2007 11:26 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
Cute CraigL... (not you... the comment. Others may find you cute, but you are not my type ... Although, we could Rock together sometime!)
iouone22007-5-3 11:26:31


-------------------------

Vincent Wilcox (a.k.a. KRAKR)
Drummer
My band: Letters Make Words
JMAXMarketing

posts: 21

May 03, 2007 3:33 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
Yes I do have a remedy sign up for a real job at a real job posting site that is  going to charge a low, very low fee, less than a tank of gas to go job hunting locally. And they have real jobs that pay an hourly rate for Virtual Workers. No scam, this one I personally know the site owner! He has a coming soon place holder now it is opening soon maybe by May 21st 2007?

Good luck job hunting!
JMAXMarketing2007-5-15 15:21:25


-------------------------

J Max Marketing Gail & Jeff
mayday

posts: 5

May 03, 2007 5:26 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
This is a typecal scam and there are alot of them out there so please look closley at those get rich scemes that promis you the world of riches and you know that it is not for real. They take your money and laugh all the way to the bank. I usally put that stuff in spam mail for the spam cops to play with. That seems to work best. I have reported over 75 scam sites in the past two months and everyone of them have disapperad off the internet. Now spy ware is a nother subject that should get real serious attention because its out there and probaly on your site stealing informaiton and what you are doing. Well good luck and hope every thing works out for you.
Page of 2 Next »
Post Reply
 
.
Advertisement

Keep the Community Clean!

  • StartupNation forums should be used as a platform to learn, educate others, share stories, tips & tricks and to provide constructive feedback.
  • Please do not use the Forums for advertising & blatant self-promotion.
  • Please be respectful to other members and refrain from personal attacks and vulgar language.
  • StartupNation reserves the right to delete any message, reply, and/or member who violates our terms of use.
Read full terms of use
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement