Find us elsewhere
Join Now Member Login

Have you tried a complete web advancement program?

 
New Topic
Post Reply
Follow Topic
Page of 1
  • Author
  • Message
 
serg2472

posts: 1

Feb 20, 2008 12:22 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote

Hi,

 

I`m wondering if anyone has ever tried a program like this one http://www.1webimage.com/sbprogram/index.htm

 

It`s a program designed to help small businesses get the most out of their presence on the Web.

 

Would you find something like this useful or recommend it to someone else? 
 

Looking for your honest and straightforward comments.

 

Thank you in advance

CampSteve

posts: 1216

Feb 20, 2008 1:53 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
I personally have no experience with such a company.  I`m more of a DIY person.

I tend to believe you will find better results with individuals or small companies that will give you a personal working relationship.  From what I see on the homepage of that site, it`s a pretty faceless company.  They hardly mention their company name and don`t have a logo until the bottom of the page.  The URL isn`t clean.  And this line, "Building traffic to bring visitors" is redundant and poorly written.  Traffic and visitors are the same thing!

To me, it looks like they don`t know what they are doing.  That`s just my impression.

CampSteve2/20/2008 11:21 AM
RabbitMountain

posts: 423

Feb 20, 2008 9:11 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
That company isn`t doing anything special... I do all that stuff for my clients, as I would expect any web designer worth their salt would be doing. The main differences I see are that you`re paying a flat annual rate rather than getting billed hourly or per-project; and, you don`t really  have much say in what goes on with your site because it`s all some kind of prepackaged deal... there doesn`t appear to be any individual human with whom you can discuss anything. What do you do if web1image gets something wrong? Who do you ask for when you call? Will they meet you for coffee and pick up the tab for your Venti soy quad mocha latté?

I know that for my own clients the initial outlay of cash is usually considerably higher than $1000, but month-to-month the invoices are considerably less. Depending how the site is set up and what the client wants, the annual expense can be less than half what web1image is charging... including ongoing SEO and all that.

My educated guess is that web1image is a couple of guys in the Philippines who set up the contracts, collect the money, then farm out the work to freelancers at elance.com for a tiny fraction of what they collect. I see this business model cropping up everywhere and I don`t like it... I think it takes unfair advantage of peoples` lack of knowledge regarding web design & development and ultimately costs them more than it should.

—paula
nhgnikole

posts: 2660

Feb 21, 2008 4:28 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
That URL looks insanely expensive for what you get.

I honestly don`t see the point. And I agree it looks offshore to me.

Page of 1
Post Reply
 
.
Advertisement

Keep the Community Clean!

  • StartupNation forums should be used as a platform to learn, educate others, share stories, tips & tricks and to provide constructive feedback.
  • Please do not use the Forums for advertising & blatant self-promotion.
  • Please be respectful to other members and refrain from personal attacks and vulgar language.
  • StartupNation reserves the right to delete any message, reply, and/or member who violates our terms of use.
Read full terms of use
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement