Find us elsewhere
Join Now Member Login

EMarketScreen - any info?

 
New Topic
Post Reply
Follow Topic
Page of 3 Next »
  • Author
  • Message
 
Jun 20, 2006 2:42 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote

I received an email from EMarketScreen that said

>  I`m doing research for a company that will be writing an article about
>  personalized candy bars. This company is considering featuring your site in this article.
>  If your company is selected, they would place the article on their popular, online publication.

Their website says they provide "in-depth research and analysis for online publishers" Has anyone heard of this? Would I be wasting my time bt responding?



-------------------------

Susan
Prints On Chocolate
http://www.Prints-On-Chocolate.com
CustomerTrend

posts: 7

Jun 20, 2006 5:25 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
I`m not sure how it would hurt, getting sometime of exposure will hopefully get you a link back.  I wouldn`t spend to much time if it doesn`t seem worthwhile for your type of business.. 

-------------------------

CustomerTrend Inc. / Albert Barneto
Video and Telephone Mystery Shopping
Customer FeedBack Solutions
Call us Toll Free: 1-(866)-509-9888
CustomerTrend.com
Jun 22, 2006 11:03 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
If it seems legit, IMHO you should respond.  Not all promotional deals work out... but nothing ventured, nothing gained!

-------------------------

"It`s not work, it`s network!"

Portage Media Solutions
http://www.portagemedia.com
My Blog: http://www.interactivemediatips.com
ticktubes

posts: 8

Jun 27, 2006 6:44 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
I got an email today. note grammer error below, I expect that this is an automated email!

   - Claire

"I`m doing research for a company that will be writing an article about
ticks lyme disease. This company is considering featuring your site in this article.
If your company is selected, they would place the article on their popular, online publication.

I would need to hear from you soon if you`re interested in being featured. You can either reply
to this email or call 877-***-****. Leave a message and I`ll forward it to them so they can
return your call.

Thanks,
Jennifer "

Robino

posts: 2

Jun 28, 2006 7:23 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
This is clearly a garbage type email that goes through your meta tags or description and picks out a specific keyword phrase and sends an email.  I received the same one.


Jun 28, 2006 7:52 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
Well, I have the same...

"
I`m doing research for a company that will be writing an article about
term paper. This company is considering featuring your site in this article.
If your company is selected, they would place the article on their popular, online publication.

I would need to hear from you soon if you`re interested in being featured. You can either reply
to this email or call 877-***-****. Leave a message and I`ll forward it to them so they can
return your call.

Thanks,
Jennifer"

iouone2

posts: 1185

Jun 28, 2006 1:16 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
What purpose do these types of email serve? Does anyone actually make money from them. It seems that the effort put in would have very little return. Haven`t people (the ones sending it) figured out the population (on the net) have learned their scam? Maybe not huh?

-------------------------

Vincent Wilcox (a.k.a. KRAKR)
Drummer
My band: Letters Make Words
Robino

posts: 2

Jun 28, 2006 1:33 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
It`s spam, I`m sure - plus if you email them back or call them to confirm they will likely try to scam you into paying to see your company name/product in their article in some unknown medium. 

If this was legit, they would inform you of the mysterious company who is writing this article and tell you where you can check them out.  
iouone2

posts: 1185

Jun 28, 2006 2:07 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
Robino... Exactly.

-------------------------

Vincent Wilcox (a.k.a. KRAKR)
Drummer
My band: Letters Make Words
p5gal5

posts: 6

Jul 05, 2006 1:57 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote

Definitely spam..it`s actually how I found this forum!  I searched on G to see if there was any info about this place, and their website came up (or not....it`s currently down) with the same garbage I received.  And I felt so special for that one minute it took me to read the email!



-------------------------

Gwendolyn
http://www.rubberstamps.net
Custom rubber stamps and date stamps
Page of 3 Next »
Post Reply
 
.
Advertisement

Keep the Community Clean!

  • StartupNation forums should be used as a platform to learn, educate others, share stories, tips & tricks and to provide constructive feedback.
  • Please do not use the Forums for advertising & blatant self-promotion.
  • Please be respectful to other members and refrain from personal attacks and vulgar language.
  • StartupNation reserves the right to delete any message, reply, and/or member who violates our terms of use.
Read full terms of use
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement