Find us elsewhere
Join Now Member Login

Contact TV - Legitimate or Scam?

 
New Topic
Post Reply
Follow Topic
Page of 1
  • Author
  • Message
 
WebJunky

posts: 549

Feb 23, 2009 8:21 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
friends,
 
i was recently contacted by contact them TV and their email initially read "we will pay you $4,800 to advertise on your site". upon looking into it further i found that it is an online MLM concept and essentially they want me (website owners) to join as affiliates and recruit members into their program.  The compensation structure looks great.  but...
 
1) is this company legitimate?
2) does it work as good as it claims (anyone with personal experience)?
 
i would hate to ruin my relationship with my membership base - that is precisely why I overly scrutinize vendors that i recommend.
 
you can view their link here Contact TV. They have their affiliate terms and conditions on their affiliate section link (here Affiliates).  it sounds good, but then again the legitimacy and credibility is the question. 
 
any help? personal experiences?
 
 


-------------------------

The Extra Money Blog
Make Extra Money Online - Paid Surveys
File an Airline Complaint - Sue the Airline
Dubai Information
Accounts Receivable Factoring
Structured Settlements
Raw Food for Dogs
Care of Bamboo Plants
vwebworld

posts: 1237

Feb 23, 2009 11:01 PM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
 
 
The contactTV link you have in your post.. looks like it is an affiliate link. So, you get some credit/benefit from people on SUN who click on that link and sign up.
vwebworld2/23/2009 11:07 PM


-------------------------

Web Design | Best Beef Jerky | ecommerce articles | Follow vwebworld on Twitter
DavidJackson

posts: 945

Feb 24, 2009 4:34 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
i was recently contacted by contact them TV and their email initially read "we will pay you $4,800 to advertise on your site". upon looking into it further i found that it is an online MLM concept and essentially they want me (website owners) to join as affiliates and recruit members into their program.  The compensation structure looks great.  but...
 
1) is this company legitimate?
2) does it work as good as it claims (anyone with personal experience)?
 
 
 
 
 
You said that you received an e-mail from them. Here`s a good rule of thumb to remember:
 
Legitimate companies DO NOT send unsolicited e-mails. That`s called spam, and it`s illegal. 99.9% of companies that do this are scams!
 
David Jackson
DavidJackson2/24/2009 4:31 AM


-------------------------

Powerful, Free Marketing Tips to Help Grow Your Business!
Free-Marketing-Tips-Blog.com Follow me on Twitter @FreeMarkTips
WebJunky

posts: 549

Feb 24, 2009 9:10 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
i figured...
 
it did not appear as though anything of value was exchanging hands....what is really a member paying for? why would someone keep on paying $20,30,40 monthly? i could not find any justification.....
 
the links i posted were the links as sent to me.  now that i think about it, it wasnt the company itself that contacted me, but rather a member of the company attempting to recruit another (me).
 
thank you for the input


-------------------------

The Extra Money Blog
Make Extra Money Online - Paid Surveys
File an Airline Complaint - Sue the Airline
Dubai Information
Accounts Receivable Factoring
Structured Settlements
Raw Food for Dogs
Care of Bamboo Plants
nevadascul

posts: 651

Feb 26, 2009 10:43 AM ET    Quote  Report Abuse
Points: 0   Vote
Here is an age old golden rule.  "If the offer sounds to good to be true, It`s a scam of some sort."


-------------------------

The older we get, the more excuses we make for not chasing after our dreams. But truth is, goals are attainable at any age.
Page of 1
Post Reply
 
.
Advertisement

Keep the Community Clean!

  • StartupNation forums should be used as a platform to learn, educate others, share stories, tips & tricks and to provide constructive feedback.
  • Please do not use the Forums for advertising & blatant self-promotion.
  • Please be respectful to other members and refrain from personal attacks and vulgar language.
  • StartupNation reserves the right to delete any message, reply, and/or member who violates our terms of use.
Read full terms of use
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement